Traditions

So, once again, on a Tuesday after CBT (Discharged, and told I was doing really rather well actually) I found myself in accident and emergency – This time at StJ’s, and for myself, and with a serious rectal bleed.

No conclusions as yet, other than that it’s not an infection, and I don’t have gallstones. On the other hand, I was there and in pain until four in the morning, watching the snow build up outside.

Back at CBT, I was told that I was right – this was therapy for a problem that I don’t have. Which is good – I’m definitely dealing emotionally with the pain as well as can be expected. On the other hand – I’m definitely dealing as well as can be expected. Losing a few days to pain is just going to be normal. Self-harming to distract from worse pain elsewhere is “at least less damaging than what you could be doing”.

We’re now under a lot of snow, and unreasonably cold. I kind of want to give up.

2 thoughts on “Traditions

    • It creeps up, doesn’t it?

      That was a brilliant post, by the way – Do you mind if I make a permanent link to it? I’m thinking of making a little side-section of the blog that’s just “Research and stuff to give to your family or doctor when they get snippy about how you deal with pain”. And that would go well in it.

Leave a Reply

