Quadratisch praktisch gut.

Today I woke up with back pain that was more than adequate to make me cry and to demand to be shot in the head.

(My usual refrain was “If a dog was in this condition, and you didn’t put it down, the RSPCA would be on you like a tonne of bricks…)

So I took some morphine, and then I took some more morphine, and then since I was still in pain but didn’t really have anything to do today, I took even more morphine and floated off into a gentle bubble of comfort and stillness.

I watched the first six episodes of Daredevil, and found myself thinking about disability superpowers – It’s not really made clear whether Murdock’s has “superpowers” as such, or if he’s supposed to just have very heightened senses of smell and hearing since he’s blind, or if it’s some combination of the two.

A blind friend of mine once remarked that “All the things about blind people having super-senses? Being able to hear which way up a coin has landed and smell if someone takes their top off? That’s pretty much just things that sighted people say to make themselves feel better about using us as punchlines” and that’s stuck with me ever since.

So as I drift in and out of sleep, I wait for my disability superpower to manifest. I wonder what it’ll be?

2 thoughts on “Quadratisch praktisch gut.

  1. My disability superpower is an intimate knowledge of the Radio 4 schedules as I spend so much time resting in bed listening to the radio…and that’s OK. 😉

    Percy, I’d never think about you as a dog. Maybe a classic British short-hair, ginger tabby, with rather mobile joints. Mind you, cats can put their feet behind their ears as standard anyway. 🙂

    Lots of love to you. Cathy xxxxx

  2. PS Are you now quoting chocolate wrappers? German packaging: “Quadratisch. Praktisch. Gut.” (“Square. Practical. Good.”)

    You make me spend more time on Wikipedia than any other of my many correspondents. I like that. 😉

Leave a Reply

