Funded By The British Taxpayer

So, as of 2016, all medication prescribed by the NHS and costing more than £20 is going to have the price listed on the packet, along with the message “Paid for by the British Taxpayer”.

The Tories claim this is to “hammer home to patients that these drugs aren’t ‘free’, and that wasting them costs the Taxpayer money”.

Right then.

It takes a good eye to not view this as “Tories trying to guilt-trip the disabled into taking less medication”.

First, let us look at “Funded by the British Taxpayer”. This does two things – It posits that anyone taking a prescription is not a taxpayer and subtly, somehow, not British. After all, it’s not British to just take something for free, we’re a nation of hardworking families. Definitely not inclusive of disabled people, who are both more likely to not work and more likely to be single or childless than an abled person.

I find myself fighting the urge to remind readers, and more so myself, that I am a taxpayer, I am self-employed even if I’m currently on self-appointed sick leave, I live with my partner in a close approximation of a family. No matter how much I tell myself that my worth is not my monetary value, or my conformation to strict standards of how a successful person looks (House, car, job), but is based in my strength of character and the love of my friends… I’m still subject to the same propoganda as everyone else. I am a taxpayer, a worker, and thus I have rights. Being a taxpayer gives me rights. I chuck my comrades who can’t and have never worked to the wolves.

Asides aside.

They write “THIS PROLE IS COSTING THE TAXPAYER MONEY” on the bags that we must carry home from the pharmacy. Passers-by scrutinise us; Do they need whatever’s in that bag? They’re just going to go home and waste it. Or maybe they’re an addict, and that’s their fix, getting high on prescription drugs. Are they really ill? I saw them on crutches last week, a wheelchair the month before, but they stood up and walke around a bit. They’re faking, I know it. Sick bastards, draining Us Hard Workers’ taxes, giving nothing back. Bet they’re on benefits. Bet I can dob them in to the DWP for not being as sick as they claim. I can diagnose complex illnesses by watching someone walk twenty yards.

Those people, they’re just a drain on society, they give nothing back. We shouldn’t be so lenient towards them. Let them live in hospitals or asylums or prisons, it’ll be cheaper. Feed them, clothe them, but none of this luxury money to buy chocolate biscuits or internet access. That’ll teach them to skive off work. To have the temerity to be ill.

…It’s not far from that to denying us care altogether. Spend the money on people who will get better. Is it worth £20 or £40 or £80 to keep a cripple happy for a month, when it could be used to make a Hardworking Family better off?

I am compelled at this point to remind gentle readers that my taxes pay for their children to go to school. I have no children, I never will, but I don’t want signs on school gates saying “THIS COSTS THE TAXPAYER MONEY”. I’m not going to bang on at length about truancy rates and exam failures in the paper. I’m not going to try to whip up the population to worry about whether everyone who’s getting an education is really using it wisely and whether maybe some of those people should stop wasting educations and maybe get to sweeping chimneys instead.

So, one small sentence and we’re outside of society.

Then it gets worse;

Worthlessness is a fairly common feeling amongst the chronically ill, especially those of us with either mental illnesses, invisible illnesses in general, or what ued to be thought of as “Malingerer’s diseases” – Things which cause the kind of symptoms which aren’t visible to observers but rely entirely on self-reporting (Get me started about honest self-reporting of symptoms one day, if you ever want to be bored to tears). Fatigue, pain, confusion, muscle weakness, agoraphobia, psychosis. The day where you have one of those symptoms, and don’t at least briefly wonder “Am I just being lazy and melodramatic?” is a rare one.

Imagine that there was no way to buy food on the open market (as is the case with many prescription drugs, which are either controlled or downright illegal to posess otherwise). There is an agency which gives you food, which you need to live. There is no way to pay this agency (At the point of use, that is. You pay for the Food Distribution Service through your taxes, along with things like roads and schools and the fire service) and there is no way to stop being hungry. Every time they give you food, they begin to remind you how much the food costs, that someone had to make that food, that the money used to buy you food could have been used to look after innocent babies or to improve the lives of people who are just on every level more worthy than you. How long do you think that you could manage before you started trying to live on nothing but tea and dry bread? Or only eating once a week, and spending the other six days lying very still so as not to take money away from innocent babies?

But of course, this is all a lie. The money saved by having more people fail to collect their prescriptions, to decide to go unmedicated – To actively decide to live in pain in order to be less of a burden to society, Mr Hunt, this is what you are asking of us – Will not go to look after innocent babies, or even to fund the NHS better. Mr Hunt and his cronies will look at how much money the NHS is “saving”, and will slash its budget. Then Mr Smith will look at how the number of people on repeat prescriptions has reduced, and will tell the department of work and pensions that the sick are being cured, and that thus less of the sick should claim benefits – After all, if the sick can cope without medication, they can’t be that sick, can they? They must have been swinging the lead when they said they were sick, what a bunch of scroungers, trying to cheat the Hardworking Families out of their hard-earned money.

Grist for the mill.

7 thoughts on “Funded By The British Taxpayer

  1. Tory policy is driven by ideology not evidence. Result = madness + cruelty. Makes me SO angry.

  2. We should tattoo “funded by the British taxpayer” across the foreheads of MPs. Or possibly the insides of their eyelids.

    • Or at least carve it into all of their it’s-an-expense food, embroider it lovingly onto the pillowcases in their five-star hotel rooms, paint it on the walls of their neccessary-to-avoid-the-half-hour-drive-commute second homes, draw it out in waterlillies on their duck moats…

      Actually, yeah, as a saving to the taxpayer, I volunteer to tattoo it on their foreheads for the cost of the ink and a packet of Polo mints.

  3. Oddly that stuff you talk about, Percy, is the sort of stuff I pay my taxes for…Well, in my mental hypothetical hypothecation system my taxes go on health and education, fuck bail outs for thieving financiers! I choose to inhabit a fantasy world containing a civilised society: it helps preserve what passes for my sanity.

    If anyone wanted further proof of Nye Bevan’s description of Tories…

    • Last time I went down to the bank to pay my taxes was the day after a forty-eight-hour A+E stint. It might have been all the drugs, or the emotional elastic band snapping back, but I was not far off weeping with pride at the thought of being able to pay back the absolute sweethearts who kept me in one bit and full of tea for the duration.

      I, also, prefer to imagine the perfect society where my taxes go purely towards education, the NHS, Sport England and keeping the Navy from sinking. I’d be even happier if we renationalised the railways and made the RNLI into an official emergency service, rather than having to fund it with cake sales.

Leave a Reply

