Blizzards

It’s been a bit difficult writing lately, since my mental health has plummeted, but today was a concrete health-related event, so I’m going to write it up.

The occupational therapist arrived at about 11.00 this morning. The door was unlocked, so after she knocked, I phoned her, and just told her to come up.

After a long, actually quite pleasant conversation, the following points were determined;

  • I couldn’t get a carer, because that was what PIP is for.
  • I could possibly get someone to help me to swimming and back, but again that was what PIP was for.
  • I could get a ramp built, as long as I had less than £23,000 in savings.
  • I could possibly get a fall alerter.
  • I could have my bathroom removed and replaced with a wet room (but I don’t want it)
  • I can’t have a downstairs toilet put in, since I can technically do the stairs.
  • I might be entitled to more benefits.
  • It is really weird, to the council, how fluctuating EDS is.
  • It is horrifying, to outsiders, to watch someone reset a dislocation.
  • There are servies which Dearest could access to help him as a carer, if he wants.
  • Their number-one reccommendation was “Move house”.

I don’t know how I feel about all this. Pretty much “not good” because I don’t like having people involved in my business, but I suspect it’ll do me good in the long term. Somehow.

9 thoughts on “Blizzards

  1. I couldn’t get a carer, because that was what PIP is for.
    I could possibly get someone to help me to swimming and back, but again that was what PIP was for.

    Percy both the above are complete bullshit. I checked with Mike. Which council are you dealing with? Eligibility for social care is not linked in ANY way to receipt of PIP. You should be assessed against national criteria, as set out in the Care Act. No local variation is permitted.

    I am very considerably cross.

    • Well, I could get one, but I’d probably have to pay, because I was in receipt of PIP. Leeds.

      They’re going to get back to me about it, wherein they may say “Oh, we’re wrong”, but… We see.

  2. There is a means test yes. But there should be a sliding scale of contributions. So still worth asking. I didn’t think PIP was that lavish!

    I have checked and there is a document describing “the council’s Charging Policy which is designed to make sure that you only pay what you can afford to.” Until they have done the free financial assessment, they cannot say what if anything you’ll need to pay. And I am still very cross that you were mislead on that.

    See: http://www.leeds.gov.uk/docs/Paying%20for%20Adult%20Social%20Care%20in%20Leeds.pdf

    Don’t put up with vague nonsense. C xxx

  3. In my experience, when being means tested for care (and other things) my DLA (I haven’t yet been moved to PIP) does NOT count as income. They have disregarded it. Officially. On paper.

    Unless George and IDS and chums have changed this, Cathy is quite right. (Sorry that I’m too ill to read the link).

    It’s horrible negotiating all this stuff. I won’t go into my situation right now as I’m too knackered (sorry if this is unhelpful) but I just want to express my solidarity Percy. Take care.

    • Thank you for the solidarity – In a possibly ironic twist, I’m also too knackered to go investigating right now, and mostly just want to stick my head in the sand.

  4. Sorry, I’m possibly being dim. Of course social care is a local authority matter rather than central government. So it could be that policy is different where you live, but I’m doubtful.

    The first time I was ever assessed for care, many years ago, a social wiry spent two hours questioning me and writing everything down, and at the end gave me a catalogue for Wiltshire Farm Foods (frozen ready meals which can be delivered). It put me off, but I got increasingly ill and ended up living alone after my partner and I split. In the end I got some care. (I now get a lot more because of the severity of my illness but am still battling after a pretty devastating collapse in May).

    What I’m really saying is that sadly, many social workers and OTs will try to fob you off with as little as possible because they’re under pressure to save money. But if you can stomach it/have enough support, you must fight for what you need.

  5. Amy is quite right. You shouldn’t have to be assertive to get what is your fair entitlement under the law (according to the Care Act) but unfortunately you often have to be.

    As Amy says, the financial squeeze on local govt is not helping at all, but that is not your fault – and it doesn’t remove your legal right to a service if you fulfil the nationally set criteria (which cannot be varied locally).

    Good luck Percy!

Leave a Reply

