Hellscape

So, as the world has gone completely mad, I’ve not had time to talk about Stanmore.

 

First – it was a long day. Left here at nine, got home at 23.00 and didn’t get to eat in that time.

 

The physios were lovely (Physio H, hips, and Physio T, shoulders) and have started me off with a simple shoulder exercise; Lie on back with arm out sideways at shoulder height and forearm bent at ninety degrees. Rotate arm so that forearm travels from pointing towards your head to pointing towards feet, without using pecs or lats – The consensus is that I have basically no stabilising muscles in my rotator cuff, and my pecs and lats and other shoulder muscles (all frankly huge) are doing the work. As H put it “You’re lifting your arm, and activating a muscle that’s meant to pull the arm downwards. That means that the ‘arm’ that you’re lifting weighs probably about twice as much as your real arm”.

 

H opened the session with talking about swimming, and really wants to focus on getting that fitness to carry across to landlocked exercise as well. Like, serious emphasis on doing dryside training in between swimming sessions and using that to get me back up to strength. T, having a good close-read of my actual shoulders and back (Actually looking at and touching, not just vaguely gesturing! She reminds me of Physio C, my benchmark against which all other physios are compared) agreed with Dr Hd from the last Stanmore consultation that I have the muscle pattern of a serious competitive swimmer, right down to slightly shifted and split insertions and heads from a land mammal. She also made me blush by grabbing a handful of lat and going “ooh that’s just lovely to see isn’t it H? Real muscles, and all easy to get at, nothing in the way…” Very much in a professional tone, as one would evaluate carcase quality in beef cattle, but I am easily flattered.

 

The bad news – They think that I would benefit from inpatient, even if I do just stick my headphones on, or nip off to the pool for a session during the basic or counterproductive stuff. I worry that given a torrent of lies-to-children level information about pacing or prognosis, I’d cause disruption. not even deliberately, just by asking questions.

 

Anyway, step one is to return for more outpatient on the 15th of December, nine days after my bike test. Oh, did I mention we have no central heating, and haven’t had for… Over a month now. Ow. And it’s snowing.

 

Ah well, off for that swim. Got to keep on impressing the physios.

2 thoughts on “Hellscape

  1. Haha I worry that if plonked in a group where we were given talk about “graded exercise” I’d interrupt too. Not to worry though, my GP has had a letter informing him that the pain management rehab programme is full for the foreseeable so don’t bother trying to refer me… great!

    • There is literally no winning, is there?

      Took me just over 3 years to get this referral, and I think I was one of the last “Batch” before they closed referrals again – It’s not looking good for their service if they’re closed more often than they’re open.

Leave a Reply

